Society Islands – Archipel de la Société

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Society Islands are believed to have been named in honor of the Royal Society by Captain Cook.  Society islands are divided, both geographically and administratively into two groups, the Windward Islands consisting of 5 Islands namely Tahiti were Papeete the capital is located and Leeward Islands consisting of 9 Islands namely  Huahina, Raiatea and Bora Bora.

They have a population of 227,807 inhabitants and cover a land area of 1600 square kilometers or 600 square miles


~ by crr1962 on August 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: